top of page

work experience part two: nothing is so easy

For my first week of the second part of work experience, I worked at a plastic factory in Lucan. I was sent there with the intention for me not to enjoy it, that became apparent to me right off the bat on day one. I can't say I enjoyed my time there and the whole point of that week was to show me what I didn't want to do in life, but it was pointless if you ask me because I already knew that's what I didn't want to do, tell me something I don't know really. The only plus side is that I met a nice guy there but I'll probably never meet him again. Nevertheless he made my time there, a lot better than it would've been without him.

On week two, I went into Dublin City to work in an engineering firm. It was a bit better than the week before but it sure wasn't as good as the week I had with the filmmaker in the first part. I spent the first two days on a laptop, doing Excel spreadsheets but in the days that followed, I was moved around to different departments and it was more interesting then. I got to see the environmental department, the civil department, the engineering and admin departments.

On the last day, I brought the admin staff some cupcakes and they bought me a doughnut and it was a really chill last day. Maybe that would've been a good way to end the work experience, if it wasn't for the half an hour I spent... trying to catch the 25A.... in the pouring rain...by having to walk half of Dublin City... not good times.


bottom of page